ACHS sends students to presitgious summer program

-A A +A

Governor’s Scholars

By Shelley Spillman

Five Anderson County High School juniors were chosen as Governor’s Scholars - Kelly Burkhead, Jacy Isaacs, Deanna King, Corey Smith and Phillip “Tevis” Woolery.


Two students were chosen as alternates - Mary Myles and NaKayla Turner.

The Governor’s Scholar Program is a summer residential program for outstanding high school students who are soon-to-be seniors.

The experience allows high school students to stay in college dormitories and attend classes, seminars and co-curricular activities.

The program was developed in 1983 to nurture the next generation of leaders. The program is free for students and is sponsored by the Office of the Governor, the Kentucky State Legislature, and private enterprise.

The program started with 230 students on one college campus but the program has grown to house more than 1,000 students on three college campuses.