American Legion Auxiliary Unit 34 attends convention, receives awards

-A A +A
By The Staff

The Department of Kentucky held its annual convention for the American Legion and Auxiliary on June 2-4 in Louisville.
Those attending from Lawrenceburg were Post 34 Commander Bobby Thornberry, Unit 34 President Pam Rice, Betty Butler, Chrisie Halvorson, Nettie Halvorson, Shirley Thornberry and Junior members Anna Boyles, Hannah Drury and Janna Halvorson.
Unit 34 received many trophies and certificates at the convention. Shirley Thornberry was named Department of Kentucky Member of the Year as well as Community Service Volunteer of the Year.
Certificates were received for the following programs: Field Service, National Security and Cavalcade of Memories.
Trophies and certificateswere received for the following programs: Membership 100%, Auxiliary Emergency Fund for best program, Americanism best senior program, Leadership best overall program, Education best scholarship program, Community Service for Senior Volunteer of the Year and Past Presidents Parley Program for Unit member of the year.
A plaque was received from the John Keyes S.A.I. scholarship program. Public relations trophies were received for the press book and media releases. Unit 34 also submitted a history book to the department historian.
Unit 34 Juniors also received Junior Unit of the Year trophy as well as Janna Halvorson received a trophy for Junior Volunteer of the Year. She was elected as incoming Department of Kentucky Junior President and Hannah Drury was elected as Department of Kentucky Junior Secretary.
Anna Boyles is Junior Auxiliary Chaplain and Hannah Drury is secretary department level. Janna Halvorson is president and historian.
Unit 34 also received a special certificate from National President Carlene Ashworth for its donation to the Auxiliary Emergency Fund following the tornadoes in Alabama and Georgia.