Baseball Bearcats celebrate 2010 season, get started on 2011

-A A +A

Fogle recognized with three awards; Russell, DeLong honored

Matt Fogle took home three awards and three players received two varsity awards aat the annual Anderson County baseball awards/kickoff dinner, held Tuesday night at the high school.

Two departed seniors were also given awards for outstanding play. Jacob Russell was named the Most Valuable Player and Kyle DeLong received the Derrick Wells Award for the outstanding pitcher. Both were members of last year's senior class.

Others varsity award-winners named by Anderson coach L.W. Barnes were: Best Offense – Logan Woodside; Best Defense – Matt Fogle; Mr. Clutch – Kyle Rogers; Most Improved – Landon Case and Hunter Coffey.

Sparkplug – Woodside; 110 Percent Award – Michael Harley; Coach's Award – Daniel Goodlett and Zach Taylor; Academic Award – Fogle (4.016 GPA).

W.I.N. (Whatever Is Necessary) Award – Harley; P.T.P. Award – Rogers; Turpin Leadership Award – Fogle.

Also recognize were All-District selections Rogers, Harley and Russell as well as All-Region picks Rogers, Fogle and DeLong.

The 2010 senior class was also recognized for winning 85 games, two regional championships and two district crowns along with one regional runner-up finish.

The Anderson coaching staff also recognized junior varsity award winners. They were: Outstanding Pitcher – Cole Sayre; Best Offense – Granville Hayes; Best Defense – Chris Fitzpatrick; W.I.N. -- Clay Guffey; 110 Percent – Shae Sparrow; Leadership – Travis Phillips.