- Special Sections
- Public Notices
The Lawrenceburg Gamma Sigma Chapter of Beta Sigma Phi will host its 17th Christmas Community Tour on Sunday, Dec. 15 from 2-4:30 p.m.
An exception to these times is the tours at the Four Roses Distillery, which start on the hour at 1 p.m., 2 p.m., 3 p.m. and 4 p.m., and last approximately one hour.
“Our four hosts on this year’s tour will be showing historic buildings which have been a part of the Lawrenceburg/Anderson County scene for more than a century,” event organizers said in a press release. “On the tour this year will be the Chenoweth Law Office at 114 South Main St.; Cinnamon’s Flowers & Gifts at 201 South Main St.; the T.B. Ripy House & Attic Gift Shop at 320 South Main St.; and Four Roses Distillery at 1224 Bonds Mill Road.”
The local chapter held its first home tour in 1995.
Admission to the tour is $5 per person. The historic buildings can be visited in any order and tickets can be purchased at the first location visited. One ticket admits you to all four places.
Proceeds from previous home tours have been given to the following: Downtown Merchants Association to purchase decorations for the Courthouse lawn; Anderson County Historical Society Museum to purchase equipment; given toward construction of the new Senior Citizens Building; Anderson County Park; C.A.P.P. Program; Habitat for Humanity; Renovation of the Old Glensboro School; Park benches at the Anderson County Park; City of Lawrenceburg to beautify downtown; Anderson County American Legion to help with expenses of the Veterans Wall of Fame; Anderson County Library for bookcases and kitchen equipment; fund for the proposed Anderson County Swimming Pool; Anderson County Humane Society; the Anderson County Senior Citizens Center for the purchase of a wide-screen television; and scholarships for graduating Anderson County seniors.
This year’s proceeds will be used for a scholarship for a graduating Anderson County Senior and Open Hands Food Pantry.
Former hosts include Frank and Mary Ann McGrath, Judy Young, David and Katrina Oney, Jimmie and Becca Morgan, Gil and Debra Parrish, Tony and Susan Young, Truett and Cozette Hanks, Ben and Janie Stratton, Bob and Judi Fryer, Lewis and Helen Wash, Mike and Jan Rogers, Tom and Judy Bond, Bob and Jeri Chenoweth, Joe and Rosa Cook, Richard and Margaret Woodside, Gary and Sara Frances Burton, John and Diana Tuell, Paul and Linda King, John and Brenda Hume, Paul and Bonnie Barrick, Frances Speer, David and Sheryl Lawson, Johnny and Kay Cox, Billy and Jean Spencer, Bob and Mary Jane McAnly, Gerald and Terri Fraley, Gene and Becky Wilhoit, the Old Glensboro School, Connie Blackwell, Mark and Susie Prater, Wendell and Thelma Bruce, the Old Post Office/now City Hall, Linda Crawford, Jimmie and Brenda Peach, Cliff and Eunice Land, Roger and Kay Cox, Daniel and Vandra Guffey, Glenn and Mary Lee Birdwhistell, Craig and Brent Stratton, Joann Robinson, Jim and Judy Link, Melissa Wells, Scott and Dena Sutherland, Allen and Marie Hellard, Clifford and Nancy Pike, Patrick and Marcie Jeffreys, Wayne and Penney Gerding, Gary and Barbara Jessup, Bart and Meredith Lewis, Kirby and Kelly Gengler, George Geoghegan, Bert and Denise White, Allen and Carol Mobley, Ron and Jackie Wendlandt, Kelly and Glenda Thompson, Bob and Pam Ware, Jerry and Betty Springate, Chuck and Marilyn Price, Brad and Susan Smith, Bobby and Marcia Roark, Chris and Melissa Hanks, Bill and Barbara Bryant, Rod and Beth Swartz, T.B. Ripy Home, and Ron and Marlene Yung.
If you have questions regarding this year’s home tour or would like to purchase tickets before Dec. 8, contact Rita Phillips at 502-839-6607 or 502-418-3011, or at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Four Roses Distillery
Part of the Kentucky Bourbon Trail, the Four Roses Distillery has a great story to tell and an interesting history to go along with it.
Visitors to the Four Roses Distillery are sure to know that they are in for a unique bourbon experience once they see the main distillery building that is unlike any other being used as a distillery in Kentucky today. Built in 1910, its art deco/Spanish mission style of architecture was the main reason for it being placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1983.
Once they enter the visitor’s center at the top of the hill, every attempt is made to make them feel right at home by both staff and tour guides who are very knowledgeable about our distillery and the process that makes some of the best tasting award winning straight Kentucky bourbons in the world.
Also, there are numerous Four Roses historical artifacts on display throughout the visitor’s center for those who want to know something about our history over the past 125 years.
The next step is for them to see and hear a short informational Four Roses video presentation that is only a prelude to an informative guided walking tour of the distillery itself. During the tour and at various points along the way, stops are made so that both historical and process explanations can be made and visitors’ questions answered by our knowledgeable tour guides.
After the tour, it is back to the award-winning Four Roses visitor’s center where our guests of legal age can sample some of our famous bourbons and then shop for some unique items that are only available in our well-appointed gift shop.
There is plenty of parking within easy walking distance of the Four Roses Distillery. The rolling hillsides of Anderson County provide a perfect setting for a unique and one of a kind experience.
Driving directions: Four Roses is located at 1224 Bonds Mill Road, Lawrenceburg. From Louisville: 1-64 east to exit 53A, US 127 south, 14 miles to Hwy 53 west, turn right, one mile to Four Roses. From Lexington: US 60 east to Bluegrass Parkway, west to exit 59B, 1/10 mile to Hwy 513 west, turn left, one mile to Four Roses.
T.B. Ripy House
The House Bourbon Built, the T.B. Ripy Home at 320 South Main St., is a continuing work in progress. George Geoghegan and Thomas B. Ripy, owners, are allowing this home to be on our 2013 Christmas Community Tour for a second year to give the community a chance to see inside and see the renovations of the past year.
T.B. Ripy, who was born in Anderson County in 1847 and died in 1902, owned many distilleries and labels during his lifetime. His descendants owned Ripy Brothers, now the site of the world famous Wild Turkey Distillery. Other family members have worked various jobs in the industry and still do today.
In 1887 T.B. Ripy began the construction of his home, a three and a half story Queen Anne brick home with a tower and a widow’s watch. It was completed in 1888 at a cost of approximately $85,000. It has more than 30 rooms and is approximately 11,000 square feet. It is on the National Register of Historic places. There is probably no equal in the area for interior architectural detail.
T.B. Ripy’s home stayed in the family until 1965. In the early 2000s, the house was abandoned, stripped of its furnishings, was left neglected and fell into extreme disrepair. Fortunately, two of T.B. Ripy’s great-grandchildren, George and Thomas B., reacquired the house at auction and have begun the long restoration and fundraising process to preserve this historical landmark. It is a Grand Victorian Home in the Queen Anne style, a unique American treasure even in distress.
Since the 2012 tour the house now has a renovated and repaired front porch, downstairs foyer and parlor, upstairs foyer, parlor, and second floor balcony. Plaster has been repaired in the downstairs and upstairs parlors. They are currently working on the dining room and the butler’s pantry in the kitchen, which will allow dining events to be held in the house. The house now has an operable bathroom. Tour guests will not be allowed in every room because of tools and work in progress. The Attic gift shop and visitors center located on the property will be open during the tour.
The owners recommend that you bring a jacket for your walk through of this house as there is no heat.
Driving Directions: 320 South Main Street is next door to Gash Memorial Chapel and across the street from Dowling Hall.
Chenoweth Law Office
The Chenoweth Law Office, focusing exclusively in the practice of school law, relocated earlier this year to 114 South Main St. after more than 20 years in downtown south Frankfort.
The old Shryock Building, circa 1890s, was completely renovated to accommodate the law office’s unique practice. Heart pine flooring was “discovered” and the brick walls re-exposed. While the ceiling was lowered to 9 feet throughout, each room in the office was given its own architectural flair. The office is mostly full of antique period pieces fitting to the age of the building. It is now decorated for Christmas with multiple themed trees and holiday accessories.
Cinnamon's Flowers and Gifts
Cinnamon’s Flowers and Gifts opened in 1989 in the West Park Shopping Center.
In early 2013, owner Missy Cinnamon made a decision to purchase the building downtown, then known as the Smith Co. Building and relocate her shop at 201 South Main St.. Cinnamon’s was moved in early January and has been pleasantly surprised by the increase in foot traffic. The open floor plan has given her store much more space to display both flower arrangements and gifts for the upcoming holiday season.
The building itself is well over 100 years old with 6,000 total square foot. It was the former location for years of the Lloyd Furniture Store, but many changes have taken place since that time.
Cinnamon’s would like to invite you to come see the many Christmas trees, ornaments, wall swags and wreaths available. They range from the whimsical to the old world and parts in between. Come be a part of a new start to downtown Lawrenceburg.
Driving directions: Cinnamon’s Flowers and Gifts is located at 201 South Main Street at the corner of Court and Main Streets.