Candidate filings pick up as deadline nears

-A A +A
By Meaghan Downs

The new year may have just started, but there is no shortage of candidates already filing for elections to be held later in 2014.  
According to documents on file in the Anderson County Clerk’s office and on the Secretary of State’s website, this year’s elections will feature some familiar faces and newcomers to local and state races as the January deadline to run for office in 2014 approaches.  
Anderson County Sheriff Troy Young, who has served as sheriff since 2005, filed last Wednesday, Jan. 8 to run for re-election for a third, four-year term.
As of press time, no other candidates had filed paperwork with the Board of Elections to oppose Young, a Democrat, in the race.
Anderson County Clerk Jason Denny said Young has resigned from his position on the Board of Elections in order to run again for sheriff and must leave the board until after the November 2014 general election.  
Incumbent magistrates David Montgomery of the 5th District and Forrest Stevens of the 2nd District, both Democrats, have also put their hats in the ring for another term on the Anderson County Fiscal Court.
Fellow Democrat incumbents filing for office include Bobbi Jo Lewis for Anderson County Attorney, Mark “Doc” Tussey for Anderson County Coroner, Joani Clark for Anderson County Jailer and Dan Phillips for County Surveyor.
As of Jan. 14 no Republican candidates have emerged to challenge the four Democratic candidates running for re-election for county attorney, coroner, jailer or surveyor. No candidates have filed to run for Property Valuation Administrator as of Tuesday morning.   
Newcomers for the upcoming elections include two candidates for two spots on the fiscal court. Steven Sea, currently president of the Anderson County Farm Bureau Federation, has entered the race as a Democrat for the 6th District.
Former city council candidate Dustin Burley has filed for 1st District magistrate, the seat currently filled by Magistrate David Ruggles.
As of Tuesday morning, Ruggles, 6th District Magistrate Kenny Barnett and 4th District Magistrate Buddy Sims had not filed as candidates for their respective districts.
Magistrate Juretta Wells, who represents the 3rd District, filed paperwork on Monday to run for her district.
Two Republicans have entered the race for Anderson County Judge-Executive with no Democrat opponent candidate filing as of Tuesday morning to challenge them. Blan “Dean” Lickliter and Noel Cotton, Jr., both Republicans, filed for county judge back in November 2013.
John Wayne Conway, who won his 2010 county judge-executive seat by an easy margin, had not yet filed to run again for judge as of press time, but said he intends to do so later this week.

Two candidates have entered the race for Anderson County Clerk. Charles Lee Hahn, presently a member of the Board of Education, has filed to run as a Democrat against Laura Gillis, a Democrat who filed Monday. Current Anderson County Clerk Jason Denny had not yet filed to run again for his seat as of Tuesday morning.
The seat for state representative is up for grabs following the legislature’s passage of its new redistricting map in August 2013.
State Rep. Kim King (R-Harrodsburg) will not be able to file for re-election as an incumbent candidate for the newly created 53rd District, which now includes all precincts in Anderson, Spencer and two in northeastern Bullitt County.
King currently serves as the representative for the 55th District, which includes Mercer, Washington and a portion of Jessamine.
James Tipton, a Republican candidate from Taylorsville, was the first to file in the fall of 2013 for state representative of the 53rd District.
Donna Crain Drury, current school board member, and Kent Stevens, a former state representative who lost to Kim King in 2010, have also joined the race for state representatives as Democrats.
Regarding non-partisan elections, Circuit Judge Charles Hickman of Shelbyville has filed as a candidate for the 1st Circuit.
Sarah M. Meschler of Shelbyville and Marie Hellard of Lawrenceburg have both filed to challenge current Family Court Judge John David Myles of Simpsonville in the Family Court division, which represents Anderson, Shelby and Spencer counties.
District Court Judge Donna Dutton has also submitted paperwork as an incumbent candidate for 1st District Court.
The deadline to file for office is Jan. 28, the last Tuesday of the month, at 4 p.m.
Several Anderson County precincts have also shifted as a part of the process of redistricting, according to Anderson County Clerk Jason Denny. A new map for Anderson County was approved about two months after the state legislature approved its maps, according to Denny.
The Anderson County Clerk’s Office has an updated precinct map available to view on its website at www.andersoncountyclerk.gov. First go to the clerk’s election tab to find the county and school district maps and the magisterial districts and precinct maps.

Comment at theandersonnews.com.