Education News and Notes

-A A +A

Pruitt to attend arts program
Devan Pruitt of Anderson County High School (musical theater) will participate in the Kentucky Center Governor’s School for Arts Program, the agency announced.
This summer, The Kentucky Center will host over 200 young artists from every region of the commonwealth, as the Kentucky Center Governor’s School for the Arts (GSA) takes place at Lexington’s Transylvania University from June 19 to July 9.
During their three-week stay, 225 student artists from 49 counties will be participate in daily seminars, master-classes, lectures, hands-on workshops and field trips to regional arts attractions.
Instruction will be offered in nine disciplines:  architecture, creative writing, dance, drama, instrumental music, musical theatre, new media, visual art and vocal music.

Two named among ‘Who’s Who’
Matthew Savoie and Aaron Slyh, both Bluegrass Community and Technical College students from Lawrenceburg, were nominated to the 2011 edition of Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges.
The national program honors outstanding campus leaders annually for their scholastic and community achievements.
BCTC nominated a total of 71 students who have demonstrated academic excellence, college participation, community involvement and future leadership ability.

Yankey inducted at Cumberlands
University of the Cumberlands inducted Austin Yankey of Lawrenceburg into the Alpha Lambda Delta Honor Society and Beta Beta Beta during the 52nd Honors Day Convocation on April 25.
Alpha Lambda Delta, the national freshman honor society, was founded at the University of Illinois 1924 specifically to honor excellent academic achievement by students in their first year of study in college.

Six named to dean’s list
Six Anderson County students were named to the 2011 spring dean’s list at Morehead State University, the school announced.
Named were John Hardy Breeding, Emily M. Bucklew, Daniel Harrison Dadisman, Kendra Allyson Hammons, Laura Marie Pfalzer and Rachel Dawn Tyler.
To be named to the list, a student must be enrolled on a full-time basis and achieve at least a 3.5 grade point average on a 4.0 scale for the current semester.

Winter graduates
Claire Kathleen Winter graduated from Brentwood High School in Brentwood, Tenn., on May 29.
She is a daughter of Shaun and Sharon Gash Winter and a granddaughter of Betty Ann Gash-Shewmaker and the late Richard T. Gash Jr.
She will attend Western Kentucky University this fall.

Students named to WKU dean’s, president’s list
Western Kentucky University has announced the names of Anderson County students who earned dean’s list and president’s list honors during the past year.
Dean’s list students had a grade point average between 3.4 and 3.79. President’s list students had a GPA between 3.8 and 4.0.
Dean’s list, fall, 2010: Whitney C. Hendry, Beau B. Swisher, Sarah Franklin, Jennifer Hoskins, Matthew Wilder, Kayla Fawbush, Victoria Gilkison
President’s list, fall, 2010: Joseph C. Hanks, Molly G. Kays, Margaree O. Sea, Jordan B. Johnson, Ashley M. King, Eric K. Chrisman, Laura A. Eaton.
Dean’s list, spring 2011: Whitney Hendry, Laura Eaton, Victoria Gilkison, Margaree O. Sea.
President’s list, spring 2011: Beau B. Swisher, Ashley M. King, Jordan B. Johnson, Kayla M. Fawbush, Joseph C. Hanks, Derek L. Royalty, Margaree O. Sea.