Incumbent mayor won't be challenged in November

-A A +A

10 candidates file for city council

By The Staff

Lawrenceburg’s mayor is set for the next four years, but the council members she will be working with are yet to be determined.

In order to run in the Nov. 2 general election, candidates had to file by last Tuesday, Aug. 10.

Incumbent mayor Edwinna Baker is seeking reelection, but no one filed to challenge her this fall.

However, 10 candidates filed for a chance at a spot on the six-seat city council.

All six of the current council members — Larry Giles, Bobby G. Durr, Ken Evans, Robert D. “Sandy” Goodlett, Steven Rucker and Paul Thomas Vaughn — are seeking reelection.

Also filing to run in November are Troy Settles, Donnie A. Fint, David Allen Kays and David Watts.

Both the mayor and city council are non-partisan offices.

With the city council race, the top six vote-getters will win seats on the council. Council members serve two-year terms.

School board races

The Anderson County Board of Education is made up of five seats, each representing a district of the county. Two of those seats are up for election this November.

In District 4, Roger M. McDowell, who is currently serving his first term on the board, is running unopposed.

District 3 features three candidates, Jason M. Feddersen, Marvin Barlow and James M. Sargent.

The District 3 seat is currently vacant on the board. Jeff Young held the position until he was hired as the district’s transportation director in July.

The Kentucky Department of Education commissioner is expected to appoint someone from a pool of applicants to the position to finish Young’s term.

November’s winning candidate will take the seat in January.