Last-minute candidates file to run for local, state offices

-A A +A
By Meaghan Downs

With a flurry of last-minute candidates filing to run, races for several local and state seats in 2014 officially kicked off Tuesday afternoon.
Candidates filing the day of the Jan. 28 deadline included Jeremy Schell for 4th District Magistrate, a Republican; Meredith Hyatt Lewis for 4th District Magistrate, a Republican; Dale Montgomery for 5th District Constable, a Democrat; and Obrey Gritton for County Judge-Executive, a Republican.
Other last-minute candidates include Laura Donnell and J.R. RoBards, both of Shelbyville, for district judge and Stewart Gritton, a Democratic candidate for state representative in the 53rd District.
The deadline to file paperwork to run for office was Tuesday, Jan. 28 at 4 p.m.  
Other candidates filed paperwork with plenty of time to spare before Tuesday’s deadline.
Current Anderson County Clerk Jason Denny, who will be running as a Republican candidate, filed three weeks ago for re-election.  
Charles Lee Hahn, current school board member, filed as a Democrat candidate at the beginning of January for the same seat.
Fellow Democrat candidate Laura Gillis also filed on Jan. 13 to run for county clerk against Hahn.
Incumbent magistrates Juretta Wells of the 3rd District, Kenny Barnett of the 6th District and Buddy Sims of the 4th District all filed paperwork to run for re-election.
Newcomers to the magisterial races include Rodney Durr, filing as a Democrat for the 1st District against fellow Democrat candidate Dustin Burley, as well as Republican candidate Bill Patterson for the 1st District.
Republican candidate Mike Riley filed paperwork to run in the 2nd District and Democrat Bradley Durr filed in the 5th District against Democrat David Montgomery.
Incumbent David Ruggles, 1st District Magistrate, did not file to run for re-election.
Property Valuation Administrator Brian Stivers and Fourth District Constable Jerry L. Shouse, both Democrats, also filed for re-election.
County Judge-Executive John Wayne Conway filed as a Democrat candidate to run again for his seat on Jan. 21.
Current Anderson County Sheriff Troy Young will be running unopposed for re-election, according to county clerk documents.
According to the 2014 Election calendar on the Secretary of State website, the public drawing for ballot position will occur Thursday, Jan. 30 at 2 p.m. in the offices of the Secretary of State and county clerks.
April 21 will be the last day to register to vote for the primary, with the primary election scheduled to be held May 20 with polling places open from 6 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Fiscal Court Magistrate
1st District
Dustin Burley, Democrat
Rodney Durr, Democrat
Bill Patterson, Republican

2nd District
Forrest Stevens, Democrat
Mike Riley, Republican

3rd District
Juretta Wells, Republican

4th District
Thomas “Buddy” Sims Jr., Democrat
Jeremy Schell, Republican
Meredith Hyatt Lewis, Republican

5th District
David Montgomery, Democrat
Bradley Durr, Democrat

6th District
Steven Sea, Democrat
Kenny Barnett, Democrat

County Clerk
Jason Denny, Republican
Laura Gillis, Democrat
Charles Lee Hahn, Democrat

County Sheriff
Troy Young, Democrat

County Attorney
Bobbi Jo Lewis, Democrat

County Jailer
Lyjona A. “Joani” Clark, Democrat

County Surveyor
Dan Phillips, Democrat

County Judge-Executive
John Wayne Conway, Democrat
Noel Cotton Jr., Republican
Blan Lickliter, Republican
Obrey Gritton, Republican

County Coroner
G. Mark “Doc” Tussey, Democrat

Property Valuation
Administrator (PVA)
Brian Stivers, Democrat

Fourth District Constable
Jerry L. Shouse, Democrat

Fifth District Constable
Dale Montgomery, Democrat

State Representative
Donna Crain Drury, Democrat
Kent Stevens, Democrat
Stewart Gritton, Democrat
James A. Tipton, Republican

District Judge, 53rd/1st
Laura Donnell, non-partisan
J.R. RoBards, non-partisan

District Judge, 53rd/2nd
Donna Dutton, non-partisan
Emily Farrar-Crockett, non-partisan

Circuit Judge, 53rd/2nd Family
John David Myles, non-partisan
Susan M. Meschler, non-partisan
Marie Hellard, non-partisan

Circuit Judge, 53rd/1st
Charles R. Hickman, non-partisan

Note: the print edition of this article listed incumbent Linda Armstrong as filing for the district judge race against Donnell and Robards. Armstrong withdrew from the race some time after Tuesday's filing deadline had passed and after press time for Wednesday's newspaper.