Mustangs celebrate football season

-A A +A
By The Staff

The Anderson County Middle School Mustangs held their annual football banquet recently, celebrating a stellar 2010 season and two-year run as one of Kentucky's best middle school teams.

Coach Brian Holloman congratulated the team on their accomplishments.  “This team finished 12 – 1, won their regular season and tournament conference championship while finishing as one of the top middle school teams in the state,” stated Holloman.  “AMS as a team, had a two year record of 24 – 3, unprecedented in middle school football in the state of Kentucky.”  

He thanked his team, coaching staff and parents for their support in his first year as head coach. Holloman took over the reins of the middle school team late in the summer when former head coach, Brian Glass,was selected as associate principal at the high school.  

In that transition time during the summer, Holloman guided a highly successful 7-on-7 team that developed into a very effective passing attack on this year’s team.  The “balance of running and passing was a key to our efforts this year.  Our coaching staff did a fantastic job of developing a strong line on both sides of the ball.  We had a lot of young people who stepped into positions on that line that made us a team to contend with throughout the season.”  Holloman said his staff is already making plans for a spring clinic, this year to include a camp for lineman. 

Sixth-grade award winners at the banquet included: Offensive Award – Bryndon Labhart; Lineman Award – Logan Mann; Defensive Award – Cade Cotton; Coaches Award – Logan Stevens; 110 Percent Award – Devon Peach.

Seventh-grade award winners included: Coaches Award – Logan Davis; Offensive Lineman Award – Nathan McGregor; Running Back Award – Ian Chilton; Special Teams Award – Connor Duncan; Defensive Back Award – Joe Dan Crawford; Defensive Lineman Award – Bradley Souder.

Eighth-grade award winners included: Heavy Hitter Award – Tevis Woolery; Defensive Back Award – Austin Cummins; Defensive Lineman Award – Chris Taulbee; Receiver Award – Dusty Puckett; 110 Percent Award – Hunter New and Caleb Dowell; Running Back Award – Chris Toomey; Special Teams Award – Tay George; Most Improved Offensive Lineman Award – Robert Baker; Offensive Line MVP – Hayden Bright; Ironman Lineman Award – Jarrod Cubert; Seth Carnaham Award – Zak King; Coaches Award – Brice Stockton; Mustang Award – Aric Day; Most Valuable Player – Zachary Carmichael.

Middle School All-State Team – Puckett, Toomey and Cubert. All-American Middle School Football Team – Cubert.