Two Anderson County STLP students win state championships

-A A +A
By The Staff

Anderson County High School senior Hunter Monarch took first in the Dell Gaming competition, and Saffell Street Elementary third grader CoraBeth Collins took first in digital art in the photo category at the Student Technology Leadership Program (STLP) state championship March 28.
According to a press release, nearly 5,000 students representing 400 schools and 100 districts from across the state were in Lexington to demonstrate their technology achievement.
The event consisted of more than 45 competition categories, covering the arts, science/technology/engineering/mathematics (STEM) and marketable career skills.
Forty-two students from Anderson County made it through regional competition and online product judging to be invited to compete in this year’s STLP State Championship.
Other students placing at the event were: Anderson Middle School eight grader Hailey Bowman (fourth in Digital Art – Graphic Design), The Anderson Middle School Mustang Sumo-Bot team consisting of Sam Hahnes, Kenny Cirillo and Alex Miller (third in Robotics – Sumo-Bot Competition), and Saffell Street Elementary third grader Alexandria Rios (fourth in Digital Art – Graphic Design).
All students representing Anderson County at the State STLP Competition will be recognized at the April Board of Education Meeting. The winning digital art projects will also be on display at the Central Office Building.
STLP is a project-based learning program that empowers students in all grade levels to use technology to learn and achieve. It was established in 1994 by the STLP State Advisory Council, which is composed of teachers, students and community leaders. The program is open to all students in all grades.
Students and teachers representing Anderson County at the STLP state championship were:
Anderson County
 High School
Blake Roach, James Tingle, Nick Conti, Mary Lee, Katie Hatchell, Leslie Hancock, Madeline Davis, Hunter Monarch and coordinator Steven McKaig.
Anderson Middle School
Abby McClellan, Emma Ryan, Cara Courrejolles, Kaylee Hawkins, Lucas Brown, Colton Frasier, Hunter Hendricks, Austin Gabhart, Kenny Cirillo, Caleb Gettelfinger, Abram Gettelfinger, Eve Gettelfinger, Mikey Hunter, Dylan Cunningham, Morgan Case, Hailey Bowman, Levi Wilson, Alex Miller, Sam Hahnes and coordinators Natalie Frasure and Jessica Beasley.
Saffell Street Elementary
CoraBeth Collins, Alexandra Rios, Ethan Hawkins, Maggie Abner, Matthew Grzynkowicz, Cameron Beeler, Isabella Bailey-Sims, Devan Arnold and coordinator Megan Klarer.
Emma B. Ward Elementary
Hannah Whitaker, Emma Jorette, Emily Slone and coordinators Ami Wilcox and Jeanna Slusher.
Robert B. Turner
Nicole Eaton, Emily Franck, Mark Andrukov,  Shayna Villier and coordinator Lauren Cooper.