Way We Were: About 100 attend Western Alumni Banquet

-A A +A

April 26, 1962
Approximately 100 alumni and friends at Western High School met in the school cafeteria for their annual alumni banquet.
Since 1929 when Western held the first commencement, there had been a continuous growth in enrollment and many of her students have become college graduates. Many fields of endeavor claim the alumni of Western High School.
Among those attending the banquet were:
Mr. and Mrs. Robert Turner and Sharon, Mrs. Charles Vaughn, Mr. and Mrs. C.H. McKee, Billie Driskell, Dottie Carter, Patricia Baxter, Mr. and Mrs. Ezra Sparrow, Herbert Sparrow, Sadie Sea, Brenda Perry, Mr. and Mrs. Robert Champion, Mr. and Mrs. Leslie Jenkins, Mr. and Mrs. Reo Adams, Mr. and Mrs. Clinton Springate, Mr. and Mrs. Forest Sea, Mr. and Mrs. Russell E. Puckett, Ellen Taylor.
Guests attending were:
Mr. and Ms. Carl Gregory, Mr. and Mrs. L. D. Brown and Nova, Mrs. Raphael Morris, Mrs. Ralph Dennis, Nancy Brown, Dr. and Mrs. Forest Shely, Mr. and Mrs. Wyatt Shely, Mrs. C.V. McGuire, Mr. and Mrs. Wilmer Brown, Mr. and Mrs. Leon Gibson, Mr. and Mrs. Ernest Ruby, Cecelia Searcy, Glen Brown, Margaret Sea, Tommie Warford, Mr. and Mrs. Ed Grace, Carolyn Casey, Richard Steilberg, Mr. and Mrs. C.W. Robinson, Mr. and Mrs. Floyd E. Gregory, Mr. and Mrs. Paul Gregory, Nannie Mae Hupp, Mr. and Mrs. Maurice R. Stratton Sr., Mrs. Elizabeth Keeling and Jerry, Mr. and Mrs. Rexford McHenry.
Mr. and Mrs. Andrew Bird, Carol McHenry, Wanda Barnett, Mr. and Mrs. Leroy Casey, Mrs. C.T. Ward, Mr. and Mrs. Bud Gritton, Mr. and Mrs. Gilbert Sea, Mr. and Mrs. Don Hart, Mr. and Mrs. Bob Anderson, Darrell Gabhart, Ann Houchins, Jody Hughes, Junior Hayes, Robert Hudnall, Johnny Mitchell, Albert Peach and Sherrill Wells.
Those participating in the chorus were:
Karen Waterfill, Sharon Turner, Peggy Satterly, Linda Drury, Brenda Barnett, Linda Brown, Nova Brown, Joann Kirsch, Jeanne Blakeman, Rita Gash, Jane McGuire, Mary Lou Corley, Janet Kirsch, Loretta Hupp, Lois Ann Brown, accompanied by Sue Cole.
Mrs. Ira Hahn and Mrs. W.O. Burke prepared the meal. Also assisting were: Terry Cunningham, Daril Ulery, Gloria Sea, Donna Cox, Doris Ulery, Connie Perkins, Jody Hughes, Sue Stratton and Connie Baxter.

William Porter Wheat, 69, retired section foreman of the Southern Railway company; Benjamin Harrison Stratton, 72, extensive land owner in Mercer and Anderson counties; Ira Kavanaugh “Kavy” Moffett, 52, 27-year employee of George T. Stagg Distillery; Rudolph F. Frederick, 52; Mary Ellen Curtsinger Casey, 51; John E. Breeding, 67, World War I veteran; John F. Herndon, 85, farmer.

April 22, 1982
Graduate candidates with superior academic achievements were to be honored.
A cumulative grade average of 3.5 for seven high school semesters was required to be invited to the special event.
Honor students were: Susan Denise Bowman, Mary Brown, Wendy Sue Crabill, Ann Crutcher, Janie Drury, Renee Durr, Ron Feaster, Carla Gash, Sharon Gash, Penny Gobar, Donny Hendry, Angela Perkins, Bryan Shouse, Diana Smith, Jeff Smith and Emma Jeffries Waldridge.

Cynthia Steilberg and Jeff Drury were voted Mr. and Miss Senior at Western Anderson High School.
Jane Drury and Gill Crouch were selected as Mr. and Miss Western.

Ellen Sutherland won a Seiko watch, Diana Goodlett, a diamond ring, and Mary Brock a Bulova watch at the grand opening of The Jewelry Center on Main Street.
New owners were Steve and Sherry Stivers and Wanda and Woody Gash, who bought the business from long-time owners Laymon and Bette Miller.

James Allen Cook, 29, an Austin Nichols employee, died after a long illness; Mary Louis Watts Ritchey, 73, wife of Louis Marshall Ritchey; Walter Delbert Brown, 80, retired farmer; Eugeneth “J” Jefferson Waldridge, father of five sons and two daughters; Gus Raymond Bain, 72, former employee of Dupont BeNemours Co.; Ruby Buckler, 75.

April 23, 1997
Jonathan Beasley signed a contract to attend Morehead State to play for the Eagles’ new coach, Kyle Macy. He is a son of Mr. and Mrs. Junior Beasley.

Seventeen members of the Anderson County High School FHA Chapter attended the State FHA meeting in Louisville.
Laura Birdwhistell placed first in the State Star Events Competition in the Junior FHA Facts test and Christina Jennings, received a three star rating (out of a possible three stars) in Senior Storytelling.
The local chapter received a Gold Honor Roll, which is awarded to the top chapters in the state.
ACHS also received a level three national awarded which is awarded to top chapters in the nation, focusing on national programs.

Students from Saffell and Ward schools were among the top winners in Regional Governor’s Cup competition in Scott County.
There were 11 members of the Ward Academic team that participated.
The future problem solving team composed of Alex Elliott, Tiffany Judd, Katie Perry and Heather Searcy earned first place among a field of six.
Chandler Marks placed third is social studies written assessment.
The Ward academic team tied for fourth place overall.
Saffell’s academic team placed second overall in the Governor’s Cup competition.
The Quick Recall Team placed first in the region. Team members were Jay Springate, Lucas Hatfield, Justin Halvorson, Ben James, Desiree Scrogham, Jacob Flygstad, Park Walden and Luke Watts.
Springate was first in math and Anne-Tyler Morgan placed second in language arts.
At District Governor’s Cup Competition the Saffell Street Quick Recall Team placed first in the district.
Scarlett Springate was second in general knowledge. Morgan was second in language arts, while Katie Wallace took third place and Brittany Abell, fourth.
Jay Springate took first in Math, Keegan Gay was first in science, Megan Hoskins was first in composition and McKenzie Vissing second.

Amanda White’s essay earned her first place in the county in Area Six of Kentucky in the Anderson County Conservation District essay and poster contest.
Other essay winners at Anderson High School were: Stacy Gregory, Kelley Adams, Michael Simpson (third in county), Seann Speray, Chad Stratton, Brad Stumph and Amanda Lunsford.
Essay winners at Anderson Middle School were: Jonathan Hughes (second in county), Alice Davis and Brandon Cheak.
Poster winners were:
Ward Elementary — Kathleen burns, Jeremy Howell, Ashley Campbell, Ashley Perry and Emily Campbell.
Western Elementary — Lucy Maddox (third in county), Sara Sweet, Lori Drury, Kristen Lester, Mindy Hagan and Ashley Sparks.
Anderson Middle — Mary Evelyn Reinle, Brandi Hawkins, Virginia Hawkins, Natalie Morgan and Jessica Mullins.
Saffell Street — Amanda Warford was the county champion in the poster contest; and Nikita Bradley was second, Katie Jamison, Lindsey Jones and Erica Sullivan.

Dr. Carl Everett Wright, 80, preacher at Fist Baptist Church from 1959 to 1966;  Margie Myrtle White Gritton, 85, widow of O.H. Gritton Sr.; Don Miller Lamar, 46, branch manager for the Dept. of Agriculture, Division of Pesticides; Audrey Irene McGuire, 82, retired registered nurse; George B. Peasant, 91, retired employee of Lloyd Furniture Store; Annie Liddie Peach Sea, 79, retired employee of National Distillers.