• Branson sentenced to 15 years for manslaughter

    Timothy Branson was sentenced in Anderson County Circuit Court Friday for the death of his wife, Modena Sutton Branson, who was shot to death at her home on Ballard Road in 2012.

    Branson, 51, was sentenced to 15 years for manslaughter and five years for wanton endangerment charges for a total of a 20-year consecutive prison sentence.

    In June, Branson accepted the Commonwealth's plea agreement to enter a plea of guilty, which amended the charge of murder to first-degree manslaughter.

  • Local high school students recognized in Youth Salute

    Taylor Dile, of Anderson County High School, and Nathaniel Ward, of the Christian Academy of Lawrenceburg, were winners at the Central Kentucky Council on Youth Leadership’s 34th annual “Youth Salute.”

    Dile won a $4,000 scholarship with Midway College and High School Leaders award. Ward won a High School Leaders Award as well.

  • EKU to offer online master's degree in construction management

    Eastern Kentucky University will offer a 100 percent online master’s degree in construction management for fall 2014.

    The program, designed to serve current industry professionals, can be completed in as little as 18 months and is unique in that it offers an avenue of advancement for individuals from across the industry spectrum.

  • Lawrenceburg students make President’s List at Eastern

    EKU announces Spring 2014 Semester’s President’s List

    Eastern Kentucky University has announced that 1,177 students earned President’s List honors for the Spring 2014 semester.

    Local students honored are:

    •Michelle Bruner of Lawrenceburg, senior Correctional & Juvenile Justice Studies major.

    •Amanda DeWitt of Lawrenceburg, junior Philosophy major.

    •Lexandra Overby of Lawrenceburg, sophomore Pre-Occupational Science major.

  • EKU announces Dean’s List

    Eastern Kentucky University has announced that 2,880 students earned Dean’s List honors for the Spring 2014 semester.

    The following local students were on the List.

    •Michelle Lynn Bruner of Lawrenceburg, senior Correctional & Juv Jus Studies major.

    •Heather Renaute Cheek of Lawrenceburg, junior Fam & Cons Sci Teaching major.

    •Amanda Lauren DeWitt of Lawrenceburg, junior Philosophy major.

    •Chelsea Renee Lane of Lawrenceburg, junior Pre-Occupational Science major.

  • Wilson named to River Falls Dean’s List

    The spring semester Dean’s List honoring 1, 384 students at the University of Wisconsin-River Falls has been released by Registrar Daniel Vande Yacht.

    Elaine Wilson of Lawrenceburg, with a major in Physics ,was named to the list.

    To be named to the Dean’s List, a full-time undergraduate student must earn a grade point average of at least 3.5 on a scale of 4.0 or midway between an “A” and “B” average.

  • Reading Royalty

    Emma B. Ward Elementary School students recently celebrated their yearly reading achievements with a party on the playground, as well as the annual crowing of the Accelerated Reading King and Queen.

    The Accelerated Reading program is a school wide program in which teachers set reading goals for students. Students earn points for books that they read and earn rewards throughout the year for their success.

    This year’s AR winners included, but are not pictured, Fifth Grade champs Justin H. and Abigail F.

  • ACHS sends students to presitgious summer program

    Five Anderson County High School juniors were chosen as Governor’s Scholars - Kelly Burkhead, Jacy Isaacs, Deanna King, Corey Smith and Phillip “Tevis” Woolery.

    Two students were chosen as alternates - Mary Myles and NaKayla Turner.

    The Governor’s Scholar Program is a summer residential program for outstanding high school students who are soon-to-be seniors.

    The experience allows high school students to stay in college dormitories and attend classes, seminars and co-curricular activities.

  • Saddle Up!
  • Robert B. Turner Elementary Honor Roll

    Fourth Grade Straight As

    •Sarah Baker

    •R.J. Bernot

    •Jessica Brothers

    •Colton Courrejolles

    •Seth Davis

    •Lakelynn Dillon

    •Lexie Dodd

    •Jade Doyle

    •Lauren Emmons

    •Bryce Foster

    •Isaiah Gettelfinger

    •Jayden Hart

    •Tyler Hawkins

    •C.J. Hill

    •Bryson Inabnitt

    •Cameron Jones

    •Emma Karpowich