• Emma B. Ward Elementary names students to honor roll

    Emma B. Ward Elementary recently named students to its second nine weeks honor roll.

    Fourth Grade
    All “A” Honor Roll
    Haley Abell
    Katrina Best
    Katherine Bowman
    Lauren Breiner
    Nicholas Breiner
    Hailey Bruce
    Tyler Case
    Daniel Clark
    Kaylie Clark
    Kayla Conway
    Sara Cook
    Ashley Curtsinger
    Kailey Curtsinger
    Jocelyn Douglas
    Logan Dowell
    Alaina Drake
    Jerrica Drury
    Brooklyn Durr
    Nathan Eccles

  • Academy MathCounts member to compete at state

    The Christian Academy of Lawrenceburg's MathCounts team competed with 10 other schools in the Capitol Chapter competition Feb. 16.

    Two team members, Blaine Carpenter and R.W. Myles, were in the top 25 percent out of more than 60 competitors. R.W. Myles was in the top 10 and will be competing in the state competition in March. 

  • Education briefs: 2-20-13

    Girls’ soccer team
    to host pancake breakfast
    The Anderson County Middle School Lady Mustang soccer team will host its annual pancake breakfast on Saturday, Feb. 23 at Tony’s Bar B Q Barn in Lawrenceburg.
    All-you-can eat pancake platters will be served from 7:30-10:30 a.m. for the cost of $7. All proceeds will support the team.

    Transy students win awards
    at speech contest

  • Holy Birthday, Batman!
  • What's on your heart?
  • Celebrating 100 days of school at Saffell Street
  • Academic team ends season at regionals

    The Anderson County Middle School Academic Team faced its final challenge of the quick recall season at Royal Spring Middle School in Georgetown on Feb. 6, where eight teams competed to continue in the Kentucky Governor’s Cup Regional tournament.  
    The double elimination tournament included Anderson and fellow district representative Shelby East, as well as Woodford, Bondurant, Elkhorn, North and South Oldham, and Royal Spring.

  • Education briefs: 2-13-13

    UK releases Dean’s List

  • Agriculture Commissioner visits FFA students to promote license plate Ag Tag program

    Kentucky Commissioner of Agriculture James Comer and State Rep. Kim King stopped by the Anderson County High School Jan. 29 to speak with local Extension representatives and FFA students to promote the state’s Ag Tag program.
    Starting in March, Anderson County drivers renewing their farm license plates have the option of donating $10 to be used toward 4-H, the FFA and Kentucky Proud.
    Those renewing their plates can ask their county clerk to put $10 toward programs that will come back to benefit Anderson County, Agriculture Commissioner James Comer said.

  • Education briefs: 2-6-13

    Burkhead named to University of Kentucky Dean’s List
    Dillon Burkhead of Lawrenceburg was named to the University of Kentucky College of Engineering Dean’s List for the 2012 fall semester.
    Burkhead is a senior at the University of Kentucky
    According to a news release, a student must be a full-time and have a GPA of 3.6 or above to be named to the Dean’s List.

    University of the Cumberlands
    announces 2012 fall Dean’s List