• Ward student named district winner for essay

    Emma B. Ward Elementary fifth grade student Emily Slone was recently named the Central Kentucky West district winner in the “AARP Kentucky Grandparent of the Year” essay contest.
    She is among thousands of Kentucky fifth graders participating in the annual essay competition, sponsored by AARP Kentucky and the Kentucky Retired Teachers Association, according to a press release.
    The local contest was coordinated and promoted by the Anderson County Retired Teacher Association.

  • Robert B. Turner Elementary releases student honor roll lists

    Robert B. Turner Elementary recently released its fourth quarter honor roll. Students named to the honor roll are as follows:

    Fourth grade

    All A’s
    Jacob Alteri
    Lauren Ballard
    Tony Bertram
    Jake Boros
    Katelynn Brandenburg
    Maison Copenhaver
    Brady Driskell
    Zane Drury
    Zach Edwards
    Shelby Ford
    Emily Franck
    Knox Garland
    Tristan Gee
    Luke Griffin
    David Jennings
    Maralyn Lewis
    Gabe Lewitt
    Michelle Lopez

  • Board of Education approves personnel actions for May

    The Anderson County Board of Education approved the following personnel actions during the May 20 school board meeting:

    Reena Connelly as a teacher at Saffell Street Elementary effective the 2013-2014 school year
    Gina Flygstad as yearbook sponsor for the 2012-2013 school year at Saffell Street Elementary
    Heather Gordon as a teacher at Saffell Street Elementary effective the 2013-2014 school year
    Delana Hendrix as a substitute teacher and substitute paraeducator

  • First Amendment on display at courthouse

    Anissa Davis and Lisa Petrey-Kirk have caused quite a stir in front of the Anderson County Courthouse over the last decade.

    Both eighth grade teachers at Anderson County Middle school have been teaching their students the importance of standing up for their civil rights.

    At the end of each school year the students make their voices heard and take a trip to the courthouse dressed in their best impressions of 1960s social activists, to protest for a cause they believe in.

  • Education briefs: 5-29-13

    Students named to Harding University Dean’s List
    Erin Paden, a junior vocal music education major; Ashlyn Paden, a junior psychology major; and Laura Paden, a senior web design and interact media, all of Lawrenceburg, were among more than 1,000 Harding University students included on the dean’s list for grades achieved during the spring 2013 semester.

  • Free GED test to be offered at Learning Center

    The GED test will be offered for free in Kentucky starting May 15 through July 31, according to a press release.
    Starting Jan. 1, 2014, the cost of the GED test is expected to double from $60 to $120, according to Adult Education and Literacy Director Jerry Shaw. Anyone who has started the GED process needs to finish by Dec. 31, 2013, or students will lose all their previous test scores.
    The new computer-based test, set to be instituted in January 2014, will include higher degrees of math and more short essays, according to Shaw.

  • Education briefs: 5-22-13

    Student named to National Society of Collegiate Scholars
    Braden Peyton of Lawrenceburg has accepted a membership in The National Society of Collegiate Scholars (NSCS), according to a news release.
    The National Society of Collegiate Scholars is an honors organization that recognizes and elevates high achievers.
    NSCS provides career and graduate school connections, leadership and service experiences, access to discounts and savings as well as nearly half a million dollars in scholarship annually, according to a press release from NSCS.

  • Saffell Street May Students of the Month
  • WKU student receives scholarship to study Chinese

    Western Kentucky University student Jessica Brumley of Lawrenceburg was recently awarded a U.S. Department of State Critical Language Scholarship (CLS) to study Chinese in China during the summer of 2013, according to a press release.
    Brumley is one of approximately 610 U.S. undergraduate and graduate students who received a scholarship from the U.S. Department of State’s CLS Program in 2013.

  • Anderson County Scholarship Fund awards grants to 35 students

    Scholarship grants for academic year 2013-14 have been made to 35 students, 32 of whom were selected by the selection committee of the Anderson County Scholarship Fund, it was announced in a news release.
    The United Methodist Church Scholarship Committee of Lawrenceburg selected the remaining three students.