FOOTBALL: Bearcat football celebrates season at awards banquet

-A A +A
By John Herndon



Anderson County football celebrated its 8-3 season with the annual team awards banquet on Nov. 18. The Bearcats finished as Class 5A, District 6 runner-up but were eliminated in the first round of the state playoffs by Cooper, which will be playing in this week's state championship game.

Those selected as varsity award-winners by the coaching staff were Most Improved Offensive Lineman – Jarrod Cubert; Best Offensive Lineman – Landon Searcy; Best Running Back – Granville Hayes; Most Improved Running Back – Tristan Ashburn.

Most Improved Wide Receiver – Dusty Puckett; Best Wide Receiver – Ross Cox; Offensive Most Valuable Players – Cox and Zachary Carmichael; Special Teams Most Valuable Player – Joe Rose; Special Teams Most Improved – Hayden Bright.

Most Improved Defensive Lineman – Darius Harvey; Best Defensive Lineman – Searcy; Most Improved Defensive Back – Sam Laytart; Tony Kays Defensive Back Award – Cox; Most Improved Linebacker – Huston Page; Best Linebacker – Ashburn.

Defensive Most Valuable Players – Ashburn and Searcy. Captain Awards – Hayes, Austin Hall, Zack Kearns and Ryan McGregor. Senior Awards – Hayes, Hall, Kearns, McGregor, Justin Moffitt, Jordan Tucker and Tyler Thomas.

Coaches Award – Thomas; Keith/Dale 110 Percent Award Special Teams – Kearns; Keith/Dale 110 Percent Award Offense – Tucker; Keith/Dale 110 Percent Award Defense – Justin Woodworth.

Freshman team awards were: Best Offensive Lineman – Logan Davis; Best Running Back – Ryan Martin; Best Wide Receiver – Larry Taylor; 110 Percent Award – Kyler Campbell; Best Defensive Lineman – Nathan McGregor; Best Defensive Back – Joe Dan Crawford; Best Linebacker – Ian Chilton; Most Improved Offense – Jordan Morgan; Most Improved Defense – Devan Spencer; Freshman Most Valuable Player – Martin.

Junior varsity team awards were – Best JV Defensive Line – Nathan McGregor; Most Improved JV Defensive Line – Caleb Dowell; Best JV Linebacker – Blake Trimble; Most Improved JV Linebacker – John Satterly; Best JV Defensive Back – Austin Cummins; Most Improved JV Defensive Back – Austin Phillips; JV Defensive Most Valuable Player – Cummins; JV Special Teams Most Valuable Player – Landon Curry.

JV 110 Percent Award – Dowell; Best JV Offensive Line – Nathan McGregor; Most Improved JV Offensive Line – Land Thacker; Best JV Wide Receiver – Cummins; Most Imprvoed JV Wide Receiver – T.J. Lewis; Best JV Running Back – Martin; Most Improved JV Running Back – Worth Sparrow; JV Offensive Most Valuable Player – Brayden Russell.

Scout team awards were: Defense Scout Team – Zack King; Offense Scout Team – Tyson Yett.

Academic award-winners were: Freshman Academic Award – Campbell and Nathan McGregor; Sophomore Academic Award – Russell and Carmichael; Junior Academic Award – Rose; Senior Academic Award – Hayes.

The Cunningham-Hawkins Leadership Award was presented to Hayes.