Penny named region’s Player of the Year, Mr. Basketball finalist

-A A +A
By The Staff

Anderson County High School boys’ basketball player Cobe Penny has been named the Eighth Region’s Player of the Year in a vote of the region’s coaches.

Penny, who became school’s all-time leading scorer, headed the team, announced Monday.

Last Friday it was also announced he had been named a Mr. Basketball finalist.

Penny was the only Anderson player selected to the 15-man all-region team.

Gallatin County’s Jon Jones was named the region’s Coach of the Year.

Members of the All-Eighth Region team are: Cobe Penny, Anderson County; Brennan Stanley and Zach Clinkenbeard, Walton-Verona; Devin Young, South Oldham; Jackson Gibson, Travis Henderson and Zach Larimore, Oldham County; Nick Fort, Dayvion McKnight and Jacob Feltner, Collins; Justin Rose, North Oldham; Justin Rassman and Troy Coomer, Gallatin County; and Zach Kelch and Kelly Niece, Simon Kenton.

Penny earned the Mr. Basketball finalist distinction as the Kentucky Association of Basketball Coaches’ Eighth Region Player of the Year. The award is only open to seniors and the player of the year in each of the 16 regions moves on to be a finalist.

Penny has signed to play college basketball at NCAA Division II power Bellarmine University.