• Education briefs

    McNabb, Schuster graduate
    Emilie-Anne McNabb and Chelsea Schuster of Lawrenceburg were among the 1,082 graduates of Eastern Kentucky University recognized at the conclusion of the fall 2015 semester.
    The graduates were honored at separate academic college commencement ceremonies Dec. 11-12, 2015.

    HOSA students compete
    at state conference
    Ten Lawrenceburg students were among those who competed last month at the HOSA State Leadership Conference in Louisville.

  • Saffell Street Citizens of the month
  • EBW fifth-graders honored

    From staff reports
    Fifth-graders honored for attendance or being on the honor roll for the third nine weeks are:
    Mr. Calvert’s homeroom
    All A’s
    Brooklyn Burgard
    Gillian Case
    Elisabeth Chilton
    Adam Cook
    Rayleen Flygstad
    Emily Hudson
    John Potter
    All A’s and B’s
    Donna Campbell
    Hannah Cox
    Lakin Gross
    Cole Harrod
    Katelyn Hibshman
    Hillary Kays
    Brady Klink
    Sam Lee
    Annie Sue Lynch
    Laura Miller

  • Deadline approaching for early childhood scholarships

    Kentucky’s child care providers and those who train child care providers may be eligible for the Early Childhood Development Scholarship to further their college education.
    The application deadline for summer classes is April 15. The deadline for fall classes is July 15.
    The scholarships are available to those who work at least 20 hours per week in a participating early childhood facility. Kentuckians employed as a preschool associate teacher in a state-funded preschool program are also eligible.

  • APL ‘friends’ making a difference for students, teachers

    It’s hard to learn without the proper tools.
    “It’s important that teachers have age-appropriate books, the kids can check out,” Julie Hunsinger-Mink, Friends of the Anderson Public Library treasurer said.
    Third-grade students in Pamela Felts’ class at Emma B. Ward Elementary School has a more expansive library thanks to a grant from the Friends, which invited local teachers to apply for the grants in an effort to support literacy in the Anderson County Schools.

  • Honor rolls

    Saffell Street
    Those students named to the honor roll were as follows:

    All A’s
    Sarah Anderson
    Angela McNulty
    Karlie Sims
    All A’s and B’s
    Bryce Cox
    River Curtis
    Lily Davis
    Catie Grantham
    Naytric Haliburton
    Miranda Hutchens
    Christopher Kessinger
    Ashton King
    Emma Sallee
    Emma Tinsley

    All A’s
    Rachel Watts
    Leah Rennels
    Alexia Gonzalez

  • School attorney now says board owns Glensboro school

    The Anderson County School Board was informed that it owns the old Glensboro school, which has been sitting on the corner of the Anderson County High School property since the 1990s.
    “That schoolhouse has been abandoned on your property,” board attorney Bob Chenoweth told the school board Monday evening. “It is now your property.”

  • Saffell names Students of the Month
  • District announces kindergarten registration dates

    Kindergarten registration is scheduled for Monday, March 21 from 8:30 a.m. to 4 p.m. at Sparrow Early Childhood Center (ECC), and Monday, March 28 from noon to 6 p.m. at ECC, school officials have announced.
    Eligible students are those who turn 5 years on or before Oct. 1, school officials said.
    All incoming kindergarten students will receive free materials including a backpack, T-shirt, games and easy ideas to help your child be Kindergarten Ready.
    “We encourage families to bring their children to the registration,” school officials said.

  • Bushels or bust